h1

User-Testing Experiment Proposal

October 28, 2008

Katie Levitt
Proposal for User-Testing Experiment
October 28, 2008
klevitt-user-test-exp

Date: Thursday
Location: Thesis studio classroom
Time: 8:00-9:00pm
Partner: Akiko Rokube

Participants:

1. Name  ___Tarynne Goldenberg___

Role    Experiential observation and provide feedback

2. Name  ___Catherine Lewis___

Role    Experiential observation and provide feedback

3. Name  ___Stephanie (didn’t get last name at time of experiment)___

Role    Experiential observation and provide feedback

4. Name  ___Pei-Hsin (didn’t get last name at time of experiment)___

Role    Experiential observation and provide feedback

The goal of this experiment is to set up the experiential and aesthetic aspect of my thesis, and gain critical feedback from my participants. The value of this critique will allow me to determine what is working and what is not working with my concept and design. I will then be able to incorporate the feedback into the next step in my thesis progression, thus improving the project overall.

Akiko will be documenting the experiment with video and still photography footage that I will collect and use to define my results. The set up will consist of me uploading a Quicktime video or Flash swf file to the computer.

I will be setting up and establishing the audience experience through a narrative demonstration of my thesis. The experiment will include a strong execution of the visual output of my project through textual animation.

I will begin my experiment by showing a short video that exhibits key quotes that I have researched from media theorists, Marshall McLuhan, Brenda Dervin, and possibly others, that encapsulate theoretical ideas about media that pertain to my concept. I will then demonstrate through visualization how I will be filtering a real time channel flow of news media data, although in the case for the user experiment, I will be using static data.

The textual animation will demonstrate my filter as a means of media intervention, and the poetic aspect that comes from my control.

Leave a Reply

